Skip to main content

Membership Eligibility

Becoming a member is simple and qualifies you for numerous benefits and perks. Find out if you're eligible to become a member of Georgia United Credit Union.

Become a Member

Joining is quick & easy

Georgia United is more than a place to bank. We are a financial partner dedicated to helping our members achieve their financial dreams at every stage of life.

Our products and services are personalized and designed to help you keep more of your hard-earned money. No matter where you are in your financial journey, our tools and resources will help you prepare for your future.

There are many ways to qualify for membership—just meet one of the eligibility requirements below and open your account today!



  • Immediate family members of a Georgia United member or eligible non-member
  • Persons residing in the same household as a Georgia United member or eligible non-member

County of Residence or Employment

Anyone living or working in any of the following areas is eligible to join: 

  • Banks County
  • Barrow County
  • Bartow County
  • Bryan County
  • Butts County
  • Carrol County
  • Catoosa County
  • Chatham County
  • Chatooga County
  • Cherokee County
  • Clarke County
  • Cobb County 
  • Columbia County
  • Clayton County
  • Coweta County
  • Dade County
  • Dawson County
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas County
  • Effingham County 
  • Elbert County
  • Fannin County
  • Fayette County
  • Floyd County
  • Forsyth County
  • Franklin County
  • Fulton County
  • Gilmer County
  • Greene County
  • Gordon County
  • Gwinnett County
  • Habersham County
  • Hall County
  • Hancock County
  • Haralson County
  • Hart County
  • Henry County
  • Jackson County
  • Jasper County
  • Laurens County
  • Lincoln County
  • Lumpkin County
  • Madison County
  • McDuffie County
  • Morgan County
  • Murray County
  • Newton County
  • Oglethorpe County
  • Oconee County
  • Paulding County
  • Pickens County
  • Polk County
  • Putnam County
  • Rabun County
  • Richmond County
  • Rockdale County
  • Spalding County
  • Stephens County
  • Taliaferro County
  • Towns County
  • Union County
  • Walker County
  • Walton County
  • Warren County
  • White County
  • Whitfield County
  • Wilkes County


  • Employees and members of the Archdiocese of Atlanta Catholic community
  • County employees of the Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG)
  • Employees and retirees of our Workplace Partners
  • Georgia Tech employees and retirees
  • State agencies of Georgia to include all authorities, bureaus, boards and commissions
  • University of Georgia employees, retirees, students and alumni

School Systems

We welcome employees and retirees of the following public, private and parochial schools, as well as colleges and universities. 

Public School Systems 

  • Clarke County Schools
  • Clayton County Schools
  • Dalton City Schools
  • Dawson County Schools
  • DeKalb County Schools
  • Dublin City Schools
  • Forsyth County Schools
  • Gordon County Schools
  • Henry County Schools
  • Jackson County Schools
  • Laurens County Schools
  • Madison County Schools
  • Newton County Schools
  • Rockdale County Schools
  • Savannah Chatham County Schools
  • Social Circle Schools
  • Whitfield County Schools

Private and Parochial Schools

  • Blessed Trinity High School
  • Christ the King
  • Greater Atlanta Christian School
  • Holy Redeemer
  • Holy Spirit Preparatory
  • Immaculate Heart of Mary
  • Marist
  • Monsignor Walter J. Donovan High School
  • Notre Dame Academy
  • Our Lady of Mercy
  • Our Lady of the Assumption
  • Our Lady of Victory
  • Pinecrest Academy
  • Providence Christian School
  • Queen of Angels
  • St. Catherine of Siena
  • St. John Neumann Regional
  • St. John the Evangelist
  • St. Joseph's, Athens
  • St. Joseph's, Marietta
  • St. Mary's
  • St. Peter Claver
  • St. Pius X
  • St. Thomas More
  • Solidarity School

Colleges & Universities

  • Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
  • Agnes Scott College (students also eligible)
  • Albany State University
  • Albany Technical College
  • Altamaha Technical College
  • American Intercontinental University
  • Armstrong Atlantic State University
  • Atlanta Metropolitan College
  • Athens Technical College
  • Atlanta Technical College
  • Augusta State University
  • Augusta Technical College
  • Bainbridge College
  • Brewton Parker College
  • Central Georgia Technical College
  • Chattahoochee Technical College
  • Clayton State University
  • College of Costal Georgia
  • Columbus State University
  • Columbus Technical College
  • Dalton College
  • Dalton State College
  • Darton College
  • DeKalb Technical College
  • DeVry University
  • East Georgia College
  • Fort Valley State University
  • Gainesville State College
  • Georgia College & State University
  • Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Georgia Health Sciences University
  • Georgia Highlands College
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Georgia Northwest Technical College
  • Georgia Perimeter College (alumni also eligible)
  • Georgia Southern University
  • Georgia Southwestern State University
  • Georgia State University
  • Gordon College
  • Gwinnett Technical College
  • Kennesaw State University
  • Lanier Technical College
  • Macon State College
  • Mercer University
  • North Georgia College & State University
  • Middle Georgia Technical College
  • Moultrie Technical College
  • North Georgia Technical College
  • Oconee Fall Line Technical College
  • Ogeechee Technical College
  • Oglethorpe University
  • Okefenokee Technical College
  • Savannah State University
  • Skidaway Institute of Oceanography
  • South Georgia College
  • South Georgia Technical College
  • Southeastern Technical College
  • Southern Crescent Technical College
  • Southern Polytechnic State University
  • Southwest Georgia Technical College
  • West Georgia Technical College
  • Wiregrass Georgia Technical College
  • University of Georgia (students and alumni also eligible)
  • University of West Georgia
  • Valdosta State University
  • Waycross College


Let’s Become YOUnited

If you're eligible, we'd love to have you join the Georgia United community! To get started, open a Prime Share Savings Account with a $5 opening deposit plus a $5 one-time, nonrefundable membership fee.

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply online. To open a membership for a minor, please visit a branch location or call  888.493.4328.

Came to this branch yesterday; spoke to the manager about opening an account. I had such great experience, super helpful and informative. I will definitely be joining the credit union when I become a permanent resident of Georgia.
- Maria S.
I've never belonged to a credit union before, and the experience was much better than the bank I've used for the last 10 plus years...Not to mention the interest rates are great as well.
- Michael M.
The ease of the process of becoming a member, the knowledge, kindness and courtesy of the staff was exceptional! This experience was our best so far out of all our banking relationships! We have already brought family members to become members and we will bring more! Keep up the great work!
- Henry B.
This bank has been amazingly helpful from the first day I opened my account.
- Selena B.
It was a very rewarding experience and it feels like a family you just become a part of. I matter and that is big.
- Barbara C.